Friday, February 24, 2017

Blogging Break ► Feb 24 - Mar 5

Hi everyone! ♥

I'm going away from February 24 to March 5. I'll still be around on social media but I won't be blogging during these days. I'll be back on March 6th. 

See you all then!



Thursday, February 23, 2017

ARC Review: Beauty of the Beast by Rachel L. Demeter

Title: Beauty of the Beast
Author: Rachel L. Demeter
Series: Fairy Tale Retellings #1

Publication: March 15th 2017
Genre: Adult ~ Historical Romance
Purchase: Amazon | Kobo

Rating: 4/5

Experience the world’s most enchanting and timeless love story—retold with a dark and realistic twist.

A BEAST LIVING IN THE SHADOW OF HIS PAST

Reclusive and severely scarred Prince Adam Delacroix has remained hidden inside a secluded, decrepit castle ever since he witnessed his family’s brutal massacre. Cloaked in shadow, with only the lamentations of past ghosts for company, he has abandoned all hope, allowing the world to believe he died on that tragic eve twenty-five years ago.

A BEAUTY IN PURSUIT OF A BETTER FUTURE

Caught in a fierce snowstorm, beautiful and strong-willed Isabelle Rose seeks shelter at a castle—unaware that its beastly and disfigured master is much more than he appears to be. When he imprisons her gravely ill and blind father, she bravely offers herself in his place.

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST

Stripped of his emotional defenses, Adam’s humanity reawakens as he encounters a kindred soul in Isabelle. Together they will wade through darkness and discover beauty and passion in the most unlikely of places. But when a monster from Isabelle’s former life threatens their new love, Demrov’s forgotten prince must emerge from his shadows and face the world once more…

Perfect for fans of Beauty and the Beast and The Phantom of the Opera, Beauty of the Beast brings a familiar and well-loved fairy tale to life with a rich setting in the kingdom of Demrov and a captivating, Gothic voice.

Disclaimer: This is an edgy retelling of the classic fairy tale. Due to strong sexual content, profanity, and dark subject matter, including an instance of sexual assault committed by the villain, Beauty of the Beast is not intended for readers under the age of 18.


Right from the start I thought this was a great story. The first thing that I loved from it was the first main character we got introduced to, Isabelle. I just loved how kind and good she was and even so this didn't make her a total Mary Sue or anything because she also had a lot of fire in her, which I really like in the heroines I read about.

Adam got introduced a little later into the story and he also didn't dissapoint. Once we reached that part of the story it was very similar to Disney's Beauty and the Beast, only for adults. The story was very similar to the story we all know and love with some differences throughout. It was also slightly darker and there was a gothic feel to it, which is what I love most about it.

The vilain of the story, Raphael was absolutely vile. I hated him but in one way that was good because I love reading about bad guys that you can really hate, you know? But I also gotta say, there's a reason why he is the way he is. And I also feel like I should say I really wasn't a fan of Isabelle's stepsisters. They were pretty awful, just like stepsisters often are in fairy tales.

The romance between Isabelle and Adam was incredible. It was a slow burn and written perfectly the way it was. I fell a little in love with Adam myself. He really needed someone like Isabelle to pretty much make him alive again and rejoin the world. I have so much feels for them! And I also feel like I should say how much I enjoy reading about any of the male main characters this author writes. I just love them all!

Overall, Beauty of the Beast by Rachel L. Demeter was such a beautiful retelling. One of the best I've read so far. The writing was simply gorgeous and easily my favorite thing in the book. It wasn't quite 5 star worthy but I would still highly recommend it to fans of retellings, Beauty and the Beast, historical romance or just anyone who wants to read a great story.




       About the Author:

Rachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and her high school sweetheart of eleven years. She enjoys writing poignant romances that challenge the reader's emotions and explore the redeeming power of love.







Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Waiting On Wednesday: Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I'm eagerly anticipating.


Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody
Expected publication: July 25th 2017 by Harlequin Teen

A darkly irresistible new fantasy set in the infamous Gomorrah Festival, a traveling carnival of debauchery that caters to the strangest of dreams and desires.
Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her creations are her family, and together they make up the cast of the Festival’s Freak Show.

But no matter how lifelike they may seem, her illusions are still just that—illusions, and not truly real. Or so she always believed…until one of them is murdered.

Desperate to protect her family, Sorina must track down the culprit and determine how they killed a person who doesn’t actually exist. Her search for answers leads her to the self-proclaimed gossip-worker Luca, and their investigation sends them through a haze of political turmoil and forbidden romance, and into the most sinister corners of the Festival. But as the killer continues murdering Sorina’s illusions one by one, she must unravel the horrifying truth before all of her loved ones disappear.


Doesn't this book just look and sound amazing? I can't wait to get my hands on it once it releases. I'm so excited for it!



Monday, February 20, 2017

ARC Review: The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown

Title: The Witchfinder's Sister
Author: Beth Underdown
Publication: March 2nd 2017 by Viking

Genre: Historical Fiction
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Kobo

Rating: 3/5

A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by “Witchfinder General” Matthew Hopkins—for readers of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe.

Before Salem, there was Manningtree. . . .

“This summer, my brother Matthew set himself to killing women, but without ever once breaking the law.”

Essex, England, 1645. With a heavy heart, Alice Hopkins returns to the small town she grew up in. Widowed, with child, and without prospects, she is forced to find refuge at the house of her younger brother, Matthew. In the five years she has been gone, the boy she knew has become a man of influence and wealth—but more has changed than merely his fortunes. Alice fears that even as the cruel burns of a childhood accident still mark his face, something terrible has scarred Matthew’s soul.

There is a new darkness in the town, too—frightened whispers are stirring in the streets, and Alice’s blood runs cold with dread when she discovers that Matthew is a ruthless hunter of suspected witches. Torn between devotion to her brother and horror at what he’s become, Alice is desperate to intervene—and deathly afraid of the consequences. But as Matthew’s reign of terror spreads, Alice must choose between her safety and her soul.

Alone and surrounded by suspicious eyes, Alice seeks out the fuel firing her brother’s brutal mission—and is drawn into the Hopkins family’s past. There she finds secrets nested within secrets: and at their heart, the poisonous truth. Only by putting her own life and liberty in peril can she defeat this darkest of evils—before more innocent women are forced to the gallows.

Inspired by the real-life story of notorious “Witchfinder General” Matthew Hopkins, Beth Underdown’s thrilling debut novel blends spellbinding history with harrowing storytelling for a truly haunting reading experience.


It's a little hard to get my thoughts in order about The Witchfinder's Sister. Up until about 60% into the book, I had quite a "meh" feeling about the story because it read so very slow. A lot of the times I had to force myself to pick the book up to read. I didn't think it was totally bad, I just didn't love it and I wasn't sure if I liked it all that much either.

BUT... those last 40% did save the book for me. That's where the story started picking up a whole lot more and where I got really into it. As hard as it was to pick up the book before, now I didn't want to put it back down. And I liked the story even more for how the author ended it. 

Throughout that first half of the book I wasn't sure what to think of the characters. I thought all of them were a little bland to read about and the pace of the story was slow so it was hard to connect with them, especially the main character Alice. I did warm up to her as the book progressed, especially during the second half. 

Alice's brother, Matthew (who is the "witchfinder" from the title) was hard to pin down at first for me. But in those last few chapters he gave me honest-to-god chills because of what he did to all those women. In a way it was good he gave me chills but damn, he sure was creepy at times. Some parts in the book really creeped me out.

Overall, The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown was nothing like I had expected. It was hard to get into the story and to connect with the characters at first but I did think it was very well-written and like I said, I liked how the story ended. I would say it's worth a read just for that ending alone, actually. But of course I wished I had liked it more from the start and not just those last 40%. Still, it's a pretty unique story that I'm glad I read.



       About the Author:

       Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Beth Underdown was born in Rochdale in 1987. She studied at the University of York and then the University of Manchester, where she is now a Lecturer in Creative Writing.

The Witchfinder’s Sister is her first novel, and is out with Viking in the UK and Ballantine in the US in Spring 2017. The book is based on the life of the 1640s witch finder Matthew Hopkins, whom she first came across while reading a book about seventeenth-century midwifery. As you do.


Friday, February 17, 2017

Cover Reveal: Throne of Truth by Pepper Winters

 

THRONE OF TRUTH COVER REVEAL

The final conclusion to the multiple USA Today Bestseller Crown of Lies.
Releasing 28th Feb!

Pre-order:
GooglePlay: http://bit.ly/2kpvfE8



Blurb:

TWO YEARS
Since my life changed for the second time and not necessarily for the better. Two years since I traded prison bars for streets and hunted a runaway who I’d met in an alley.

TWO DAYS
Since I forgot how to lie, woke to fists, and chased after the girl who’d been stolen from me.

TWO HOURS
To save her, rescue her, keep my lies intact. She looks at me full of hate. I look at her full of confession.

TWO MINUTES
For our relationship to switch from mutual dislike to floundering with unknowns. I’ve hurt her. Now, she’s hurt me. I guess we’re even.

TWO SECONDS
For her to listen, to see, to finally know who I am. The answer comes with hardship. The answer isn’t what she wants to hear.

TWO BREATHS
For me to walk out the door.

TWO HEARTBEATS
For it all to be over.




Find my review of the first book, Crown of Lies here

Purchase it on:
GooglePlay: http://bit.ly/2kpkNwt


♥ Holly's Boys ♥

Highly recommended story to check out!